Final Thoughts on DBZ

I’ve been discussing Dragon Ball Z for a few posts now, and I feel like it’s time to wrap things up. Here’s the final rundown for DBZ-

“Should I watch this show?”

DRAGON BALL Z KAI

Yes. Definitely. Given the repetitive nature of the anime, you don’t necessarily have to watch the entire show to get a good taste, but watching some of this legendary show is a must. I would highly recommend watching all the way through one of the show’s “sagas”, or villain arcs. Usually the sagas start and end cleanly, without a lot of loose ends to tie up, meaning you can start and stop after a single saga without feeling lost.

“Why should I watch this show?”

DBZ was a breakthrough. It was one of the first popularized anime in America and one of the first popular anime in the fighting genre. Its tropes and traditions have become iconic and its story still inspires to this day. For more info on exactly why to watch this show, see my previous posts.

“It’s over 100 episodes, ain’t nobody got time for that!”

dbzkai

Dragon Ball Z Kai is currently airing on Toonami and is readily available online. Kai, while still daunting, is a trimmed down version of the original DBZ story, with remastered animation and much less filler. What started out as almost 300 episodes worth of content has now been reduced to less than 200. It’s not exactly binge-able, but if you’re looking for less of a load, DBZ Kai is the way to go.

You can watch DBZ Kai here if you’re interested.

Well, that’s my take on DBZ. Comment below if you feel I missed anything or if you’d like to see me talk about something specific.

Next time on Millennial Eye- Neon Genesis Evangelion.

Leave a comment